Partnership with the Art Gallery of WA

Reason for Being

In this innovative cross-arts partnership between the Art Gallery of WA and WA’s newest contemporary dance company, Co3, Gallery visitors will experience a creative response to their State Art Collection and Gallery architecture re-interpreted through contemporary dance and collaborative performance.

Over the course of one week every month, you can observe Co3 Artistic Director and choreographer, Raewyn Hill as she creates a new work, Reason for Being, with Co3 dancers in the Gallery’s spaces.

Reason for Being provides a platform for innovation, collaboration and exchange, a site for some of Perth’s leading voices from across the creative industries to share ideas and involve themselves in responding to and defining a distinct contemporary choreographic language.

From first conceptual conversations through to a showing of the week’s work, Hill unpacks her creative practice, revealing the process of creating contemporary dance in the unusual live studio environment of AGWA.

Reason for Being is supported by the Australian Government through the Australia Council, its arts funding and advisory body and Wesfarmers Arts.

2017 Dates

Wednesday 1 February – Saturday 4 February 2017

Wednesday 1 March – Saturday 4 March 2017

Wednesday 26 April – Saturday 29 April 2017

Wednesday 28 June – Saturday 1 July 2017

Wednesday 16 August – Saturday 19 August 2017

Wednesday 4 October – Saturday 7 October 2017

Wednesday 1 November – Saturday 4 November 2017

Gallery

Back to 2017 Program